IDSA Member’s Firm Marks 10,957 Days of Innovation. Realized.

BOLTgroup Turns 30

Nov 4 2015 - 3:12pm

Charlotte, NC-based BOLTgroup is celebrating its 30th anniversary. Staffers marked the occassion with a barbeque at Lake Wylie. The firm was founded in 1985, and within a few years, named by ID magazine as one of the Top 40 Design Innovators in the United States. BOLTgroup recently added several talented designers and secured new clients coast-to-coast, from New York City, to Grand Rapids, MI, to Los Angeles.

“We are very proud that our 30 years of focus on great design has impacted the lives of so many people in so many positive ways,” says Monty Montague, IDSA, one of the principals of BOLTgroup. “And IDSA has been a key link in the network that has become BOLTgroup. I met one of the other original business partners through IDSA; together we helped found the Carolina Chapter of IDSA, creating a nexus that accelerated our growth.”

BOLTgroup continues to support IDSA's Carolina Chapter; in fact, it's hosting the chapter's next meeting on Dec. 10, 2015 at BOLTgroup's office, at 1415 S. Church Street, Suite S, Charlotte, NC 28203.

BOLTgroup has had great IDEAs—International Design Excellence Awards from IDSA, that is. “We've won many Gold IDEAs—each award giving us a boost in esprit de corps and in business recognition—and we're not done yet!" says Montague. Clients include Coca-Cola, Evenflo, GE Lighting, Herman Miller, IBM, Ingersoll-Rand, Maytag, Rubbermaid and Ryobi.

The firm has been a pioneer in the integration of product + brand innovation; Montague’s DMI Journal article “Integrating the Product + Brand Experience” predicted the design profession’s progression toward total experience design. He's also been published in IDSA’s INNOVATION and PDMA’s Visions magazine and interviewed on Businessweek Innovation podcasts and National Public Radio. He's lectured widely at universities and industry forums, including IDSA’s International Conference. Montague is a former IDEA juror and an IDSA Student Merit Award winner.