2020 Academic Jury

Dec 14 2020 - 12:44pm


Identifying and celebrating our best design talent.

Thank you to these design practitioners and educators who volunteer their time to serve as judges of this year’s SMA, GSMA, Scholarships, and Education Papers programs. Each judge is responsible for reviewing a considerable amount of content in the process of making their scores and selections. Their dedication and commitment towards identifying and celebrating the next generation of design talent is an invaluable resource to our community. The group below includes all members of IDSA's 2020-2021 Education Council.

The 2020 jury group is lead by IDSA's Education Director, Verena Paepcke-Hjeltness, Associate Professor - Industrial Design at
Iowa State University


Undergraduate SMA
Graduate SMA

Adam Jossem
Founder and Principal Designer,
Jet Pack Industries

Chloe Condon
Industrial Designer, 
Pampered Chef

Eddie Licitra, IDSA
Associate Design Director,
McKinsey & Company

Geraint Krumpe, IDSA
Founder, Prinicipal Design

Jemma Frost
Senior Design Researcher,

Joshua Lederer
Design Consultant/Entrepreneur, Lexicon

Kat Reiser, IDSA
Principal Industrial Designer,
Rise Design

Kevin Shankwiler, IDSA
Sr. Lecturer, GA Tech School of ID & Digital Fabrication Lab

Kyle Ellison, IDSA
Founder & Design Principal,
Trailside Creative Product Design

Maria Miller, IDSA
Independent Design Educator

Merry Constantino, IDSA
ProductLogic LLC

Monica Tournoux, IDSA
Senior Industrial Designer,
Design Central

Scott Henderson, IDSA
Founder & Designer,
Scott Henderson, INC

Seda McKilligan, IDSA
Professor and Associate Dean,
Iowa State University

Stephanie Battista, IDSA
Wearable Designer,
Humanity Innovation Labs

Susan Sokolowski, IDSA
Director & Associate Professor,
University of Oregon

Tom Ask, IDSA
Professor of Industrial Design, Pennsylvania College of Technology

Education Papers

Adam Feld, IDSA
Assistant Professor,
University of Louisiana at Lafayette

Dr. Andrea McDonough-Varner
Adjunct Professor,
Pennsylvania College of Technology

Başak Altan, IDSA
Independent Design Strategist, Leader, Educator

Dosun Shin, IDSA
Associate Professor, Arizona State University

Greg Thune, IDSA
Chair of Industrial Design,
Columbus College of Art & Design

Hale Selek, IDSA
Assistant Professor Product Design,
University of Oregon

Hari Nair, IDSA
Savannah College of Art and Design

Dr. James Fathers
Director, Syracuse University School of Design

Jerrod Windham
Associate Professor, 
Auburn University

Jim Arnold, IDSA
Utah State University

Kelly Umstead, IDSA
Assistant Professor of ID + Director of Graduate Program in ID, 
NC State College of Design

Lauren McDermott, IDSA
Chair, The Design School at Arizona State University

Roger Ball
Professor of Industrial Design,
GA Tech

Tod Corlett, IDSA
Director of Industrial Design Programs,
Thomas Jefferson University