IDSA Awards


IDSA Awards is a collection of awards presented in recognition of significant contribution to the Society or the industrial design profession, excellence in academic advancement, or personal achievement. The awards outlined here are presented annually at, or in close proximity to, the International Design Conference. IDSA's Awards Committee, made up of IDSA members and chaired by IDSA's At-large Director (Awards), maintains annual oversight of this portfolio and evaluates candidates to identify deserving recipients.

2019 Awards Timeline

  • June - Awards open for nominations
  • July - Awards Committee reviews all nominated candidates and evaluates them based on established criteria for each award
  • Early August - Candidates selected by the Awards Committee to receive honors are presented to the Board of Directors for approval or denial
  • August 21 - IDSA Awards are presented in Chicago, IL in conjunction with the International Design Conference

Awards Categories


Recognizes IDSA members who have earned the respect and affection of our community through distinguished service to the society and to the profession as a whole.

Previous recipients

Personal Recognition
(Individual Achievement)

Recognizes IDSA members or non-members whose sustained individual achievement has made a value contribution to the profession of industrial design.

Previous recipients



Recognizes individuals, organizations, or special projects for their creativity, innovation, passion, advocacy or achievement in the field of industrial design.

Previous recipients



Recognizes significant, distinguished, and long-term contributions of career or tenured faculty IDSA members to the field of industrial design academia.

Previous recipients

Young Educator
(of the Year)

Recognizes junior faculty, non-tenured, or tenure-track IDSA member educators who have made a noteworthy impact on industrial design education within the early years of their academic career.

Previous recipients



IDSA's Board Chair may provide special acknowledgement to individuals whose work in service of the Society is deserving of a spotlight.

Previous recipients

Awards Committee

A core purpose of the Awards Committee is to ensure the awards we give maintain their relevancy and value to our diverse membership and design community at large. In doing so, the Committee seeks to increase member understanding and visibility of the awards program. A better understanding allows for greater participation and in turn helps IDSA celebrate the wonderful achievements of our community. All candidates who qualify for an award are rigorously evaluated by IDSA's Awards Committee and subsequently approved by IDSA's Board of Directors before being presented with the recognition they have earned.

In accordance with our Bylaws, the 2019 Awards Committee is led by the At-Large Director on the Board, ClayVon Lowe, IDSA.

ClayVon Lowe, IDSA (Committee Chair)

Peter Bressler, FIDSA

Dorothy Dunn, IDSA

Ricardo Gomes, IDSA

Lorraine Justice, FIDSA

Kat Reiser, IDSA

Raja Schaar, IDSA


For more information about IDSA's Awards program, please Erin Fiorelli at