2020 Student Merit Award Finalists

IDSA is delighted to annually recognize exceptional student design talent through our Student Merit Awards (SMA) program. The nationwide competition seeks to highlight the very best creativity, problem solving and design brilliance in each of IDSA's five North American Districts.

The SMA Finalists below are student designers who have demonstrated tremendous talent and breadth of skill, and who best embody the industrial design program they represent. Being selected as an SMA Finalist is a significant achievement and instantly positions each of these individuals at the top of their graduating class.

In Round 2 of this competition, one Student Merit Award winner will be selected from each district by a committee of judges from industry and academia.



Cleveland Institute of Art
Columbus College of Art & Design
College for Creative Studies
Ceaderville University
The Ohio State University
University of Cincinnati


The University of Kansas
Southern Illinois University - Carbondale
Iowa State University
University of Notre Dame
University of Illinois at Chicago
Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Purdue University
University of Wisconsin-Stout
University of Minnesota


Kean University
Syracuse University
University of Bridgeport
Thomas Jefferson University
Wentworth Institute of Technology
Rochester Institute of Technology
Pratt Institute
Massachusetts College of Art & Design
Drexel University


Georgia Tech
Appalachian State
Auburn University
James Madison University
University of Houston
Savannah College of Art & Design
North Carolina State University
Virginia Tech


Brigham Young University
University of Oregon
University of Washington
Art Center College of Design
Western Washington University
Arizona State University
San Francisco State University
California College of the Arts
California State University - Long Beach
San Jose State University