Community Leadership Institute

 

The Community Leadership Institute (CLI) was developed to provide IDSA’s Chapter and Section leaders with practical, professional development training that is relevant to their role as IDSA community leaders, but also in their own personal career growth. 2022 will include diversity, equity, and inclusion practices, attracting and getting sponsors, volunteer engagement, and strategic planning for community success.

 


 

Upcoming Training Sessions

Create a Roadmap for a Successful 2023

hosted by Peggy Hoffman, Mariner Management & Marketing | November 10 at 11-1:00pm PT / 12-2:00pm MT / 1-3:00pm CT / 2-4:00pm ET

This session will assist chapters and sections with creating action plans for the upcoming year. Host, Peggy Hoffman (Mariner Management) will provide the tools to building a roadmap for 2023. Leaders will walk through an exercise to identify key take-aways and actions from each of the three previous CLI sessions, and then begin to build their annual plan. Together, we will make the connections between how intentional goal setting and a strategic mindset leads to community success, and serves you in your professional journey.

Please contact Korie Twiggs, Senior Community Manager, to request the previous CLI session videos in prepartion for this event.

Ignite the Volunteer Pipeline: Attracting, Engaging, and Retaining Volunteers

hosted by Pamela J. Green Solutions | August 25 at 11-12:30pm PT / 12-1:30pm MT / 1-2:30pm CT / 2-3:30pm ET

How do you get people to give their time, talent, and resources to a worthy volunteer cause? During this 90-minute workshop, you will understand what motivates volunteers; how to cast a wider net through community engagement;  ways to strengthen volunteer service commitment; and the keys to succession planning.


 

Past Training Sessions

Event Sponsorship Success: Creating Lasting Partnerships

hosted by Swaim Strategies | June 30

This training provided a deep immersion into the critical fundraising area of sponsorships, and how to strategically and creatively look at the ways development teams are building relationships with some of their largest stakeholders. Attendees looked into creating a system of mindful stewardship to not only engage the support that their mission and work deserve, but also to turn that support into lasting partnerships to fuel their work moving forward.

Mastering an Inclusive Mindset

hosted by RW3 CultureWizard | March 21

Mastering an Inclusive Mindset was designed to ignite the development of competencies and traits that are critical for inclusion, such as cognitive flexibility, bias awareness, style-flexing, curiosity, and cross-cultural relationship building. Workshop learning objectives included:

  • Raising awareness for the unique nature of inclusion in a complex, modern environment and how it can lead to the achievement of your mission
  • Understanding how implicit bias and other blind spots can interfere with one’s ability to behave and make decisions in inclusive and productive ways
  • Learning about your capacity for inclusion and the specific competencies and traits that are vital to an inclusive mindset with a self-assessment
  • Building an action plan of personal and organizational strategies to help build an inclusive culture

 

Questions?

To learn more about the Community Leadership Institute or to request workshop recordings, contact Korie Twiggs, Senior Community Manager.