2022 Graduate & Undergraduate Student Merit Award Finalists


IDSA is delighted to annually recognize exceptional student design talent through our Student Merit Awards (SMA) program. The nationwide competition seeks to highlight the very best creativity, problem solving and design brilliance in each of IDSA's five North American Districts.

The SMA Finalists below are student designers who have demonstrated tremendous talent and breadth of skill, and who best embody the industrial design program they represent. Being selected as an SMA Finalist is a significant achievement and instantly positions each of these individuals at the top of their graduating class. In Round 2 of this competition, one Student Merit Award winner will be selected from each district by a committee of judges from industry and academia.


Central SMA Finalists

Richmond Institute of Design & Innovation (Western Michigan University)
The Ohio State University
Columbus College of Art & Design
Cleveland Institute of Art
Cederville/ International Center for Creativity
College for Creative Studies
Carnegie Mellon University
University of Cincinnati

Midwest SMA Finalists

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
University of Wisconsin-Stout
The University of Kansas
Southern Illinois University, Carbondale
Purdue University
University of Illinois at Chicago
Kansas State University
University of Notre Dame
University of Minnesota
Iowa State University

South SMA Finalists

Georgia Tech
University of Houston
Virginia Tech
NC State University
James Madison University
Appalachian State University
Savannah College of Art & Design
Auburn University

Northeast SMA Finalists

Drexel University
Massachusetts College of Art and Design
Thomas Jefferson University
Kean University
Pratt Institute
Parsons (The New School)
Rochester Institute of Technology
University of Bridgeport
Wentworth Institute of Technology
Syracuse University
Rhode Island School of Design

West SMA Finalists

San Jose State University
Otis College of Art and Design
Arizona State University
Art Center College of Design
Western Washington University
University of Oregon
Brigham Young University
University of Washington
San Francisco State University

Graduate Finalists

Rhode Island School of Design (Northeast)
San Francisco State University (West)
University of Houston (South)
NC State University (South)
Rochester Institute of Technology (Northeast)
Arizona State University (West)
Georgia Tech (South)
Pratt Institute (Northeast)
Parsons (The New School) (Northeast)
University of Oregon (West)
University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign (Midwest)